Fifty Shades of Grey


Ever since I got bitten by a dog wearing a pink dress, I’ve been thinking…about fifty shades of grey.

No, not the book, I didn’t read it.

‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ is my new code phrase for things beyond my control

I’m not a control freak, that kind of perceived power doesn’t appeal to me. I’m more the observer and I’m a really good listener. That’s the best way to learn about what is really going on around me. And I want to know.

Writing may be one thing I have a certain amount of control over. Within reason. But even as a writer, I’m restricted and even silenced about a lot of things. This is why they invented lawyers. To keep writers in check.

DISCLAIMER: This information is subject to change without notice.

I have to laugh when people say my writing is all about me. My writing is merely a reflection of a much bigger thing. The bigger thing being life. It’s all about the journey and those I meet along the way.

I can decide what I’m going to wear on any given day and I might have somewhere I have to be at a certain time, but beyond that, anything can happen.

Like when I was running across the street one day last winter. Just as I got to the other side, I heard a loud bang and just missed getting smacked on the head by huge chunks of ice falling off a roof.

Or when I just missed getting hit head-on by a large flock of low-flying birds.

Or when a Dashie in a pink dress decided to test the ‘edible factor’ out on me.

These are my wake-up calls. The little things that tell me I’m being looked after but I have to keep my head up and pay attention. These are the things that show me where I am in my journey and how well I’m doing.

The grey I’m talking about is that part of life which is beyond my control. It sneaks up on me. I can never see it coming. Suddenly it’s just there and it’s up to me to make the right choice on how to deal with it. That’s what makes the journey interesting.

And I wouldn’t change a thing…

2 comments on “Fifty Shades of Grey

Talk to me!

