The Problem With Being Honest


Any act of honesty or sincerely bearing one’s soul involves a certain amount of risk.

No matter how good your intentions are, there is always someone, somewhere who is going to rain on your parade.

Maybe they do it on purpose, maybe they don’t.

But that’s not the point.

The point is how you react to it and the problems it can cause.

In this dog-eat-dog, power-driven society, honesty doesn’t always seem to be the best policy.

The one thing that constantly gets me in trouble is my honesty.

It shines through in my daily encounters, my writing, the way I live my life.

And I’ve earned my reputation for being honest…..well….honestly.

It’s the first thing most people notice about me. It’s the reason they let me walk their dogs, confide in me, or trust me with their secrets.

It’s all good….right?

Let me tell you what I really think.

As earnestly as I set out to be honest, life gets in the way. It often has other ideas. It constantly challenges me, throws curves, makes me misunderstand and be misunderstood more often than not,  and it constantly tests my patience.

Please put away the Kleenex. I’m not complaining, ranting, or looking for sympathy.

Just stating the facts, as I was trained to do so long ago.

Soooooooooo, is honesty always the best policy?

It is if you are prepared for all the fall-out from a more-often-than-not…not always so honest planet.

Honesty builds character without tearing anyone else down. It lets others know exactly where you stand with them. It saves a lot of miscommunication, heartache and lawsuits. It builds trust, bonds people together and is the stuff strong relationships with others is made of. It makes people believe in you.

And that’s really what it’s all about.

And it’s the reason I’m only visiting this planet.

Because honestly, being honest takes a lot of soul-searching and a lot of work. I’m prepared to do this in one lifetime, but I honestly don’t want to have to come back and do it all over again.

Once is enough.

And that’s the honest truth…

Talk to me!

