Imitation: A Cheap Form Of Flattery


http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/14/daily-prompt-homage/

I’ve never really understood why imitation is what it is.

As a writer, I’ve always gone my own way, terrified of imitating anyone. That’s the reason I found Journalism so unappealing way back when. Too restrictive, exacting, factual, everything that I felt was going to stifle me as a writer.

Well, several years later, I  understand that a degree would have given me a career boost in some ways, yes, I know that, but even now I find myself too rebellious and undisciplined to plop myself down and flatter anyone through imitation. Seems rather fraudulent to me. And there’s always that fear that maybe, someone, somewhere, somehow did, had, will come up with the same brilliant sentences as I so gallantly struggle with.

HHHMMMPPPPPFFFFFFF! (Not a word, I am aware).

Paying homage however is something entirely different.

Awww, yesh, many great writers have started off as journalists, but I’m sure you have to be really awfully good as a writer to get into journalism school, the trick is to stand out.

I will only pay my homages in acknowledging their greatness. I cannot imitate. I cannot flatter. I cannot by any means, fraudulent or otherwise, pretend to be something, someone I am not.

Cannot, and will not.

But, I did mention that I admire the great works of others. My imitation of them, in any form would hardly do them any kind of justice I’m afraid. Only bastardize any attempt to flatter them and leave my readers shaking their heads in total dismay.

Too many to mention, there are tons of brilliant writers that have come and gone and I think about what made them so great and what still makes them great even now. It’s more than a way with words, their ideas or dreams.

Much more.

Its’ how they bring their characters to life, how they make you as a reader, part of the story, how they make you feel they wrote for you and you alone. That takes a certain kind of brilliance I am still working on. When I can write a story that ‘speaks’ to the individual reader, makes you want to know the characters, or at least feel like you do, or better still, feel like you may be one of them, then I will have attained the kind of writing ‘greatness’ that makes everyone else want to ‘imitate’ me.

Fingers crossed….

I’m writing as fast as I can but everybody knows:

‘all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy’…

Now, where is my……?

Image

7 comments on “Imitation: A Cheap Form Of Flattery

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Imitation/Flattery | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: The Big Bad Wolf | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Imitation/Flattery | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: To Be or Not: is Imitation Flattery? | Rob's Surf Report

  5. Pingback: A Dirty, Poorly-Lighted Place (Hemingway) | My Atheist Blog

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: A Form of Flattery, the Swiss Voting Day and where’s the Grid? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  7. Pingback: Ernest James | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

Talk to me!

