The Greatest Generation Had The Best Music


http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/20/daily-prompt-papa-loves-mambo/

I’ve heard it said that I come from the ‘greatest generation’ which means I was a kid in the 60’s.

So, keeping that in mind, of course we had the best music back then.

I grew up listening to The Mills Brothers, Nat King Cole, Andy Williams, Dean Martin, and of course all the great stuff that was on the radio at the time, that Generation Blah Blah now calls ‘Classic Rock’.

As if.

As if anyone who grew up on that stuff is now old and shaky and not only confused about what year it is, but possibly re-living it like it’s 1966.

Deja-vue all over again.

Ya, no way.

I’m stuck in the 80’s musically, but I still love my ‘classic rock’. You know, the stuff they will play when I’m in the retirement home.

The Animals, Stones, Beatles, Bob Dylan, The Kinks, The Beach Boys, Jan and Dean, Eric Clapton, Jim Morrison, Jimmy Hendrix, Janis Joplin, to name a few greats.

And Motown, I LOVE anything Motown, definitely the best!

Nothing Generation Blah Blah can come up with can even compare. Not even close.

The last time I heard good music was in the 60’s. Everything else is just noise. Everything after 1986, anyway.

Funny how our talented and musically driven generation gave birth to the least talented generation of all time.

Well, let’s see what their offspring can come up with, shall we?

Oh, I can hardly wait.

14 comments on “The Greatest Generation Had The Best Music

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo | MythRider

  2. Pingback: We Forgot How To Music | Knowledge Addiction

  3. Pingback: We Forgot How To Music | Knowledge Addiction

  4. Pingback: Sabbatical Songs: growing up in Oxford | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Papa Love Mambo | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  7. Pingback: The Fabric of Music | In So Many Words

  8. Pingback: Daily prompt: Music | The Wandering Poet

  9. Pingback: B.Kaotic

  10. Pingback: Days Of Music Passed | Edward Hotspur

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo but Mama – Mama is a Different Story – Mama is a Big Bands Kinda Gal | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  12. Pingback: Papa Loves Mambo (Not really) | Alexia Jones

  13. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 80] Change it! | Never A Worry

  14. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Facing The Music” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Talk to me!

